Cerf and Kahn Receive 2004 ACM Turing Award

By David
February 16, 2005

“ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named Vinton G. Cerf and Robert E. Kahn the winners of the 2004 A.M. Turing Award, considered the “Nobel Prize of Computing,” for pioneering work on the design and implementation of the Internet’s basic communications protocols.

[…] ACM President David Patterson said the collaboration of Cerf and Kahn in defining the Internet architecture and its associated protocols represents a cornerstone of the information technology field […]”


Note: Also see a related article in today’s NY Times.