USACM members receive ACM Awards

By David Bruggeman
April 4, 2007

Two USACM members have been recognized by the ACM, and we wish to spread the news and offer our best wishes. Eugene Spafford, Chair of USACM, has been recognized with the President’s Award. The award recognizes individuals who have “demonstrated their exceptional abilities to advance computing technology and enhance its impact for the benefit of society through generosity, creativity and dedication to their respective missions.” Past recipients of the President’s Award include Edward Lazowska and Robert Kahn. Dr. Spafford is a Professor at Purdue University, with appointments in both Computer Science and Electrical and Computer Engineering.

USACM member David Wise has received the 2006 Award for Outstanding Contribution to ACM. Wise chaired the ACM Special Interest Group on Programming Languages (SIGPLAN) and has held the ACM positions of vice president and secretary-treasurer. He led the creation of the Federated Computing Research Conference to facilitate communication among researchers in different computer science and engineering fields. Wise helped advance the usability and content of ACM’s world-renowned Digital Library by creating its subscription and copyright policy, and advocating for early inclusion of newsletters and conference proceedings from ACM’s Special Interest Groups. An ACM Fellow since 2004, he is currently a member of ACM Council as well as several other executive committees. Dr. Wise is a Professor of Computer Science at Indiana University.

From the official ACM press release on the President’s Award:

Professor Spafford, considered one of the most influential leaders in information security, is being cited for his extensive and continuing record of service to the computing community, including major companies and government agencies. He was a member of the President’s Information Technology Advisory Committee (PITAC) from 2003-2005. He was also a senior advisor to the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Assistant Director of the CISE (Computer and Information Sciences and Engineering) Directorate during the 2003-2004 academic year. In addition, Professor Spafford has been a senior advisor and consultant on security, cybercrime, and policy issues to several agencies, including the U.S. Air Force, the National Security Agency, the Government Accountability Office, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and the Department of Energy. He has testified on numerous occasions before various committees of the U.S. House of Representatives on information security and public policy issues.

Among Professor Spafford’s research and service honors are the 2006 Outstanding Contribution Award of the ACM Special Interest Group on Security, Audit and Control (SIGSAC); the 2004 Making a Difference Award of the ACM Special Interest Group on Computing and Society (SIGCAS); and the 2006 IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award. In 2000, he received the National Computer Systems Security Award from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and the National Computer Security Center (NCSC), and was named to the Information Systems Security Association (ISSA) Hall of Fame in 2001. He is a Fellow of ACM, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE). He has also been recognized with several awards in education, including the 2004 IEEE Taylor L. Booth Medal, and the top three awards for teaching at Purdue University.

USACM extends its warmest congratulations.