FCC Invites Nominations for the 3rd Annual Chairman's Awards for Advancement in Accessibility

By Renee Dopplick, ACM Director of Public Policy
March 3, 2014

The FCC is seeking nominations for the 3rd Annual FCC Chairman’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility until March 31, 2014.

The Chairman’s Awards aim to highlight and encourage innovation in accessible technologies, standards, and best practices that will benefit people with disabilities. Nominations can include a product, service, technology, or practice introduced publicly between August 1, 2012 and December 31, 2013. Individuals, businesses, organizations, or other public or private entities can submit nominations. Self-nominations also will be accepted.

Award categories include:

  • Mobile Web Browsers
  • Social Media
  • Closed Captions
  • Video Descriptions
  • Advanced Communications Services
  • Employment Opportunities
  • Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

Criteria include:

  • Unique and inventive
  • Extent to which disability needs are addressed
  • Number of people likely to benefit
  • Affordability and availability
  • Whether recognition would help foster additional innovation and accessibility

Nominations should include a brief description of the innovation, the award category, the date the innovation was introduced to the public, and why the innovation qualifies for the Chairman’s Award.

For more information, visit: http://www.fcc.gov/document/chairmans-accessibility-awards-nomination-period-opening