Nominations for 5th Annual FCC Chairman’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility

By Renee Dopplick, ACM Director of Public Policy
February 4, 2016

The FCC invites nominations for the 5th Annual FCC Chairman’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility. The Chairman’s Awards aim to highlight and encourage innovation in accessible technologies, standards, and best practices that will benefit people with disabilities. The deadline for nominations is March 31, 2016.

Nominations can include a product, service, technology, or practice introduced publicly in 2015. Individuals, businesses, organizations, or other public or private entities can submit nominations. Self-nominations also will be accepted.

Criteria include:

  • Unique and inventive
  • Extent to which disability needs are addressed and/or impacted by the effort
  • Number of people likely to benefit
  • Affordability and availability
  • Whether recognition would help foster additional innovation and accessibility

Nominations should include a brief description of the innovation, the award category, the date the innovation was introduced to the public, and why the innovation qualifies for the Chairman’s Award.

The winners will be recognized at a ceremony to be held in Washington, D.C. in June 2016.

For more information, visit the FCC’s website.